

### Council

# 11 July 2023

**Present**: Joe Docherty (Chair), Rebecca Askew, Joanna Barker, Kay Boycott, Richard Crisp, Leslie Ferrar, James Grierson, Michael Hampel, Denise Lievesley,

for Minute 131, Cathy Cassell for Minute 136, Jeremy Cook for Minute 137, and

James Walsh (Minutes)

Omar Ahmed, Navreet Badwal, Jonathan Bewes, and Alison Hastings

# Minutes of a Meeting of Council held in The Lindisfarne Centre, St Aidan's College

### 116. Declarations of Interest

#### Noted:

- a) Ari Sadanadom raised a conflict as a member of the Department of Bioscience in relation to the Staff Appointments (Minute 124);
- b) Joe McGarry and Laura Curran raised conflicts of interest as representatives of the Durham Students' Union in relation to the 2023/24 Budget (Minute 128);
- c) Amir Michael raised a conflict as the Head of the Department of Accounting in relation to the Waterside Refurbishment Full Business Case (Minute 136);
- d) Leslie Ferrar and Terry Toney raised conflicts of interest in relation to the Deputy Chair and Senior Independent Governor (Minute 144).

#### 117. Thanks and Welcome

#### Noted:

a) on behalf of Council, the Chair thanked:

of Council:

- i) Mike Shipman, the incoming Deputy Vice-Chancellor and I
- Dan Lonsdale, the incoming President of the DSU, and I incoming DSU Postgraduate Academic Officer.
- **118. Minutes of Meeting 16 May 2023** (C/22/101 Confidential) **Approved**: the minutes of the meeting held on 16 May 2023
- 119. Matters Arising

**Noted**: there were no matters arising.

**120.** Action Log and Schedule of Business (C/22/102 and /103 Con **Noted**: the status of the Action Log and Schedule of Business

## 121. Chair's Business

Noted: that there was no additional business.

# **122.** Update on Lay Member Recruitment (C/22/104 Confidential)

**Noted**: following an extensive recruitment campaign and rigorous selection process, the appointment panel had recommended three Lay Member nominations for approval by Council.

## Approved:

a) the appointment of Robert Senior and Jaraj Thakkar to serve as lay members with effect from 1 August 2023;

**Closed Minute** 

# **123.** Lay Council Member Expenses Policy (C/22/105 Internal)

## Noted:

a)

e) challenges related to the upgrade of

e) the newly emerging Government legislation on Freedom of Speech, may have implications for student Common Rooms and would need additional scrutiny once more details became available;

## **Closed Minute**

g) congratulations were given to the DSU's PalTV for its success in the National Student Television Association Broadcaster of the Year Awards. With thanks to the support PalTV received from the 8werusupp[b.39.957-6 (en)10.5(ct)-613 )826 (U)2.o(s)8.9 no.5 (a(a)-09 170.0(93 (U) 2.0 (S) 2.0 (S)

h) the University was continuing to address the importance of highly-cited research, with staff being encouraged to take risks and to not be daunted by grant application or publication rejections;

i)

e)

Leslie Ferrar and Terry Toney left the meeting.

# **144.** Deputy Chair and Senior Independent Governor (C/22/130 Confidential)

## Noted:

- a) following approval by Council, on 16 May 2023, expressions of interest were sought from eligible Council Members for the position of Deputy Chair and Senior Independent Governor (SIG);
- b) GNC, on 22 June 2023, agreed a recommendation for each of the two positions for approval by Council;

c)